CITATION: Imperial Tobacco Canada Limited, 2025ONSC 761 COURT FILE NOS.: CV-19-615862-00CL, CV-19-616077-00CL and CV-19-616779-00CL

DATE: 2025-01-31

SUPERIOR COURT OF JUSTICE - ONTARIO

RE:

IN THE MATTER OF THE COMPANIES' CREDITORS ARRANGEMENT ACT, R.S.C. 1985, c. C-36, AS AMENDED AND IN THE MATTER OF A PLAN OF COMPROMISE OR ARRANGEMENT

AND IN THE MATTER OF A PLAN OF **COMPROMISE OR** ARRANGEMENT OF JTI-MACDONALD CORP.

AND IN THE MATTER OF A PLAN OF COMPROMISE ARRANGEMENT OF IMPERIAL TOBACCO CANADA LIMITED AND IMPERIAL TOBACCO COMPANY LIMITED

AND IN THE MATTER OF A PLAN OF COMPROMISE OR ARRANGEMENT OF ROTHMANS, BENSON & HEDGES INC.

BEFORE:

Chief Justice Geoffrey B. Morawetz

COUNSEL: Natasha MacParland, Chanakya Sethi and Anisha Visvanatha, for FTI Consulting Canada Inc., in its capacity as court-appointed Monitor of Imperial Tobacco Canada Limited and Imperial Tobacco Company Limited

> R. Shayne Kukulowicz and Monique Sassi, for Ernst & Young Inc., in its capacity as court-appointed Monitor of Rothmans, Benson & Hedges Inc.

> Pamela Huff, Linc Rogers, Jake Harris, and Katrina Banham for Deloitte Restructuring Inc., in its capacity as Monitor of JTI-Macdonald Corp.

> Deborah Glendinning, Marc Wasserman, Martino Calvaruso, Craig Lockwood and Marleigh Dick, for Imperial Tobacco Canada Limited and Imperial Tobacco Company Limited

> Michael Feder, K.C., Paul Steep, Heather Meredith, Deborah Templer, Trevor Courtis, Jamey Gage, and Meena Alnajar, for Rothmans, Benson & Hedges Inc.

> Robert Thornton, Leanne Williams, Scott McGrath, Mitch Grossell, Rushi Chakrabarti, and Peter Ogden for JTI-Macdonald Corp.

> Maria Konyukhova and David Byers for British American Tobacco p.l.c., B.A.T. Industries, p.l.c. and British American Tobacco (Investments) Limited

Vern DeRe and Robert Cunningham, for the Canadian Cancer Society

Edward Park, for Canada Revenue Agency

Avram Fishman, Mark E. Meland, Tina Silverstein, André Lespérance, Philippe Trudel, Bruce Johnson, Gordon Kugler, and Harvey Chaiton for Conseil québécois sur le tabac et la santé, Jean-Yves Blais and Cécilia Létourneau (Quebec Class' Action Plaintiffs)

Jacqueline Wall, for the Province of Ontario

Linda Plumpton, Jeremy Opolsky, Scott Bomhof, Adam Slavens, and Alec Angle for JT Canada LLC Inc., and PricewaterhouseCoopers Inc., in its capacity as Receiver of JTI-Macdonald TM Corp.

Clifton Prophet and Nicholas Kluge for Philip Morris International Inc.

David Ullmann for La Nordique Compagnie D'Assurance du Canada

Raymond Wagner and Kate Boyle, and Maddy Carter, Representative Counsel for the Pan-Canadian Claimants

Stacy Petriuk and Laura Comfort for the Province of Alberta

Mike Eizenga, Jesse Mighton, Preet Gill, André Michael, Peter Lawless, Edward Gores, Jeffrey Leon, and Michael Peerless for the Province of British Columbia, Province of Manitoba, Province of New Brunswick, Province of Nova Scotia, Province of Prince Edward Island, Province of Saskatchewan, Government of Northwest Territories, Government of Nunavut and Government of Yukon in their capacities as Plaintiffs in the HCCR Legislation Claims

Glenda Best and Ken McClain for the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador

Brett Harrison and Guneev Bhinder for the Province of Quebec

Patrick Flaherty, Bryan McLeese, Claire Wortsman, Justin Safayeni, and Patrick Carl, for R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company and R.J. Reynolds Tobacco International Inc.

Ari Kaplan, Representative Counsel for Former Genstar U.S. Retiree Group Committee

Steven Weisz and Dilina Lallani for Grand River Enterprises Six Nations Ltd.

James Bunting and Sam Cotton for Heart and Stroke Foundation

Douglas Lennox and David Klein, for Representative Plaintiff, Kenneth Knight, in the Certified British Columbia Class Action

William Sasso and David Robins for The Ontario Flue-Cured Tobacco Growers' Marketing Board

Matthew Gottlieb and Andrew Winton, for The Honourable Warren K. Winkler, K.C., Court-Appointed Mediator

HEARD:

January 31, 2025

ENDORSEMENT

- [1] This Endorsement applies to all three of the ongoing CCAA proceedings.
- [2] The current Stay of Proceedings expires today. The Sanction Motion for all three Applicants has yet to conclude. Consequently, it is necessary to extend the Stay of Proceedings until such time as the determination of the Sanction Motion has been made.
- [3] In arriving at this conclusion, it is necessary to make certain factual determinations. I am satisfied that the three Monitors and the Court-Appointed Mediator have and continue to act in good faith and with due diligence.
- [4] The record also confirms that the three Applicants have the necessary cash resources to sustain operations until such time as a determination has been made on the Sanction Motion.
- [5] The Stay of Proceedings is therefore extended to Monday, March 3rd, 2025, or such date as the determination of the Sanction Motion has been released.

Chief Justice Geoffrey B. Morawetz

Date: January 31, 2025